Thanksgiving, part 1

2 Nov

I’ve been thinking about all the Thanksgivings of my past, and how they’re all so different!  Some have been full of family, football, women in the kitchen and lots of kid’s tables and others have been spent on beaches, with pool boys bringing drinks and gorgeous dinners served to me.  I’ve also taken my kids to explore for this holiday break, one of my favorites was a trip that my oldest son and I took to NYC years ago… we did the Macy’s Parade, Phantom of the Opera, FAO Schwartz, etc… and it began his love affair with this great city.

This year I’ll be spending the holiday with friends, my older sister, niece & nephew.  We will be sharing family recipes, making memories and relaxing together for a few much needed days off.  I’m road-tripping through the west, putting my feet in the sand in SoCal and playing in the desert of Nevada.  A week of calm and quiet, good food and people I love… which will prepare me for Christmas, which is an entirely different post that you will get in a few weeks.  🙂

We want to know how you’re spending YOUR Thanksgiving… what traditions you enjoy, if you travel or everyone comes to you, and the burning question… when do you put up your Christmas tree?  We’re open to debate over the turkey as well… fried or baked?  I’ll just say this about that… I’m from a family that fries everything but their children but I like mine wrapped in bacon and baked long and slow.  We look forward to your stories, treasures and feedback!

Food is love! ~ JB

Leave a Reply

